Food, Travel, & Sex 

Everyday cannabis tips about travel destinations, recipes, and how marijuana can enhance your sex life.

Traveling for 4/20? Brush Up on State Marijuana Laws

(Updated April 12, 2017)

Planning to hit the road for 4/20? Keep in mind these state-specific cannabis laws before you travel so you can have a safe and fun celebration

Washington Adult Use Marijuana Guidelines

Washington is one of several states with an active legal retail cannabis market in addition to its medical marijuana program. If you’re traveling to Washington for 4/20, keep in mind the following retail cannabis rules under I-502 guidelines:

  • You must be at least 21 years old to purchase, possess, or use retail cannabis (and don’t even think about sneaking some to minors), with a valid state-issued ID.
  • You can possess up to one (1) ounce of cannabis, 16 ounces of cannabis-infused product in solid form, and 72 ounces of infused product in liquid form for personal consumption.
  • Possession of over one ounce to 40 grams of cannabis is a misdemeanor punishable by a mandatory minimum of 24 hours in jail (up to 90 days max), plus a $250 fine for the first offense. (Over 40 grams is a class C felony, so don’t.)
  • It is illegal to publicly open or consume cannabis or a cannabis-infused product. Should you get caught consuming cannabis in a public setting, you’re subject to a civil fine of up to $100.
  • It is illegal to transport cannabis or cannabis-infused products across state lines.
  • Don’t drive under the influence of cannabis: I-502 has set a per se DUI limit of 5 nanograms or greater of “delta-9” THC levels per milliliter of blood. When in doubt, catch a ride! Rideshares are affordable and convenient – no reason to be out driving. Sit back, relax, and let someone else navigate to your destination.

Washington Retail Marijuana Locations

Want to stop by a Washington retail marijuana shop? Use the Leafly Finder to pull up Washington state recreational cannabis stores.

RELATED STORY
Public Cannabis Consumption Laws: A State-By-State Guide

Colorado Adult Use Marijuana Guidelines

Colorado was the first state to have an active legal retail cannabis market operating in tandem with its medical marijuana program. Planning to visit Colorado? Brush up on the state’s retail cannabis laws under Amendment 64:

  • As with Washington, you must be at least 21 years old to purchase, possess, or use retail cannabis, with a valid, state-issued ID.
  • You can possess up to one (1) ounce of cannabis. However, Colorado residents can purchase up to one ounce of retail cannabis at a time, whereas non-residents are limited to ¼ ounce per retail store visit. Possession laws for all types of cannabis (flower, infused products, etc) are the same.
  • Possession of over one ounce up to two ounces of cannabis is a petty offense and subject to a max fine of $100. Between 2-12 ounces is a misdemeanor offense that carries jail time of 1 year to 18 months and a fine of $1.000 – $10,000. More than 12 ounces is a felony (again, don’t do that).
  • It is illegal to publicly open or consume cannabis or a cannabis-infused product. Should you get caught consuming cannabis in a public setting, you’re subject to a max fine of up to $100 and up to 15 days in jail.
  • It is illegal to transport cannabis or cannabis-infused products across state lines.
  • Colorado, like Washington, has a DUI threshold of 5 nanograms or greater of “delta-9” THC levels per milliliter of blood. DUI consequences can include fines, jail time, and a revoked license, depending on the driver. Can’t emphasize this enough- don’t drive, just grab a rideshare and relax.

Colorado Retail Marijuana Locations

Excited to visit a Colorado retail marijuana shop? Use the Leafly Finder to discover Colorado recreational cannabis stores.

RELATED STORY
Debunking 4/20 Myths and Separating Facts From Fiction

Oregon Adult Use Marijuana Guidelines

Oregon legalized the sales of cannabis to adults in 2014, and opened dispensary doors to all adult cannabis consumers in October 2015.

  • You must be at least 21 years of age or older, with a valid state-issued ID.
  • Adults may possess up to one (1) ounce of cannabis in public, and up to eight (8) ounces in a private setting.
  • Possession of more than one (1) ounce of cannabis up to two (2) ounces in public is punishable by a fine of up to $650. Possession of more than two (2) ounces in public, or more than eight (8) ounces in private is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six (6) months in jail with a $2,500 fine.
  • It is illegal to consume cannabis in public, including sidewalks, parks, hallways and lobbies. Public consumption of cannabis is a Class B violation, and you may be fined if you’re caught (the fine ranges from $130 to $2,000).
  • It is illegal to transport cannabis or cannabis-infused products across state lines.
  • If you’re consuming cannabis, don’t drive! Oregon does not have a DUI threshold for THC levels, but instead trains officers to detect when a driver is impaired or under the influence of cannabis. Oregon has plenty of transportation options, including a robust public transportation system, and rideshares to get you from place to place.

Oregon Retail Cannabis Locations

Looking for a local Oregon retail cannabis shop? Use the Leafly finder to discover Oregon recreational cannabis stores.

RELATED STORY
Recreational Cannabis is Now Legal in Oregon: 13 Frequently Asked Questions About the New Law

Alaska Retail Cannabis Guidelines

  • You must be at least 21 years of age or older, with a valid state-issued ID.
  • Adults may possess up to one (1) ounce of cannabis in public, and up to four (4) ounces in a private setting.
  • Possession of more than one (1) ounce in public or more than four (4) ounces in private is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to one (1) year in jail and up to $10,000 in fines.
  • It is illegal to consume cannabis in a public setting, including highways, transportation facilities, schools, places of amusement or business, parks, playgrounds, prisons, and hallways, and lobbies. A person who breaks this law is guilty of a violation punishable by a fine of up to $100.
  • It is illegal to transport cannabis or cannabis-infused products across state lines.
  • Once again, don’t drive under the influence of cannabis. Alaskan officers are trained to spot impaired drivers and the penalties are stiff; 72 hours jail time, a $1,500 fine, license suspension for 90 days and an ignition interlock device must be installed on your vehicle. Don’t risk it – call a rideshare or a taxi!

Alaska Retail Cannabis Locations

Looking for a local Alaska retail cannabis shop? Use the Leafly finder to discover Alaska recreational cannabis stores.

RELATED STORY
Where Can I Smoke Legally in a Legal State?

District of Columbia Retail Cannabis Guidelines

  • You must be at least 21 years of age or older with a valid, state-issued ID.
  • Although cannabis possession is legal in DC, cannabis sales are NOT. Cannabis must be gifted or otherwise transferred without monetary exchange.
  • Adults may possess up to two (2) ounces of cannabis.
  • Possession of more than two (2) ounces of cannabis in a public or private setting is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 6 months in jail and up to a $1,000 fine.
  • It is illegal to consume cannabis in any public space, including streets, sidewalks, alleys, parks, parking areas, in any vehicle, and at any public space where the public may be invited. A person who breaks this law is guilty of a violation punishable by a fine of $25.
  • It is illegal to transport cannabis or cannabis-infused products across state lines.
  • Don’t drive while consuming cannabis! The penaltes for driving under the influence of cannabis could land you in jail for up to 90 days with a fine of up to $300. Take the Metro, instead!

RELATED STORY
What to Expect if You Try to Fly With Cannabis

Other State Medical Marijuana Guidelines

4/20 events will be taking place in many states across the country. You’d be wise to brush up on your state’s cannabis laws.

RELATED STORY
America’s 2016 Cannabis Laws and Legalization State Map

For more details on each state’s cannabis laws, check out NORML’s state marijuana information. Have a happy, fun, and safe 4/20, everyone!