New York State has finally begun accepting applications for its coveted medical marijuana dispensary licenses. Dispensary applicants can submit licensing questions through May 5th. The Department of Health Services is scheduled to issue responses by May 14th, with the deadline to file an application set for May 29th.
Here are some additional details about the dispensary application process:
- A non-refundable application fee of $10,000
- A non-negotiable registration fee of $200,000 (serious applicants only!)
- Five applicants will be approved to cultivate and dispense cannabis
- Each of the approved applicants will be limited to four dispensary locations, for a grand total of 20 dispensaries state-wide
- Implementation date for the program is January 5, 2016
- Each approved licensee will be limited to five brands of medical marijuana (the Department of Health will set the price for all cannabis products)
- Reminder: smoking cannabis will not be permitted under the law
Patients are required to be certified from a registered physician, but the NY Department of Health has not yet begun to register either qualifying patients or physicians. In the meantime, here are the qualifying conditions so all youse New Yorkers can prepare any necessary medical documentation:
January can’t come soon enough!
Image credit: freestock.ca