Phish at The Garden, San Francisco Hippie Hill, and ... Snoop in Nebraska?
Originally set to legalize in 2024, Virginia's law now kicks in this summer. But don't expect retail sales for a while.
There's no reason to wait three years, and Gov. Northam is ready to move ahead.
Sorry, Virginia. You'll have to wait nearly three years before possession becomes legal.
The two chambers must work through a reconciliation bill before Gov. Ralph Northam can sign it into law.
Possession of up to one ounce is now just a $25 fine, and medical dispensaries should open later this year.
It's now a $25 ticket for possession. But decrim is a half-step that leaves consumers stuck with untested and possibly tainted products.
Virginia legislators and activities are working on 10 different bills supporting legalization and decriminalization.
“Virginians know we can do better. It’s time to move toward legal, regulated adult use,” AG Mark Herring said, pointing to a study showing that more than half of Virginians agree with him.