dispensary
Recreational

Ascend Cannabis - Collinsville

Collinsville, IL

Unverified listing

Is this your business?

Level up to post deals, update your store info, upload your menu, respond to reviews, and much more!

claim now

252 Reviews of Ascend Cannabis - Collinsville

4.2
Quality
4.2
Service
4.2
Atmosphere
Sort by
September 9, 2017
You couldn't ask for better people than the employees of HCI Collinsville. They really take the time to get to know you, your likes, and dislikes. They are knowledgeable, and enthusiastic. They actually go out of their way to make your overall experience the absolute best it can be. I had some problems with a preloaded pen one time and they really took care of me. Tony, Justin, John, Brady, and Gina (just to name a few) are some of the nicest people I've ever met. They truly care about the patients. Thank you HCI Collinsville!. Your kindness never goes unnoticed or unappreciated!
January 5, 2020
So for all the Recreational Smokers out there. I’ll answer a few questions I know I had before going to HCI. The experience goes like this. They have good 4-5 horizontal lines, just like waiting for Mr Freeze or Batman rides at six flags. Once those are full, the rest of the line continues down the side road adjacent to the interstate. Parking is a NIGHTMARE as one can expect. I managed to sneak into a closed business (since it’s Sunday) that did not have a “no parking sign” like the others, so I didn’t fear getting towed, otherwise.. be prepared for a mile or more walk! —we showed up a good hour or more before it opened at 10am. We were just about 10 or so people from the end of the fence lines, so we did not have to wait in the street. Once in line you’ll be given a menu on a paper, medical marijuana card information, and state/local rules and laws. — as you get to the front of the line, a few workers are there with iPads, you place your order with them, and give them your first name and two first letters of your last name, as you wait to enter the building, their already packaging and pulling your order. — as you enter, a security guard will scan your ID! NO EXCEPTIONS TO THE ID RULES. Cannot be expired, can’t be broken or messed up, and has to be a government issued drivers license, ID CARD, Military ID Card or a Passport. They were turning people away pretty consistently for this and made no exceptions to the rule for anyone! — you finally get to enter the building now and stay in the lobby, nothing happens here, your waiting for the back room to empty out a bit before heading to the “room” — as you enter the back, it’s absolutely gorgeous! Theirs all kinds of upper scale vape pens, bubblers, pipes, papers, bongs, Dab Rigs, blunt wraps etc etc. but all carry a hefty price tag. If you buy a certain kind of concentrate, you’ll have to use THEIR pen, I believe it was the Airopro vape carts, as they are expensive for the cart so just stick with the regular carts that have a 510 connection, the airopro isn’t worth the money! — you get to the counter, hand them your ID again, and he takes your name and finds your order. He goes over everything with you to make sure he pulled exactly what you wanted! (They ONLY had one flower strain that was actually “flower” and it was lemon sapphire for 65$ an eighth, they also had strawberry 17 but in “shake” for 42 an eighth plus taxes) — you can use CASH OR DEBIT CARD ONLY, no credit card purchases! He hands you your sealed bags and edibles or whatever else you purchased and out the door you go. DO NOT OPEN YOUR BAG UNTIL YOUR HOME. Cops were everywhere and I’m sure their ticked off about a dispensary opening up literally right next to their police station. So their looking for any reason to harass you, and if you open your bag, they could charge you with a DUI (they probably won’t but who cares to find out)! Just wait til you return home and enjoy! ——all in all I was very displeased with the selection, ONE SINGLE flower strain is unacceptable! And it wasn’t that they ran out, because they only had TWO to begin with! But the medical patients have a plethora of strains and options, but their stuff is kept separate from hours! Not cool! I did however weigh the bags and they were ALLL on point! Eighths bounced from 3.48 on one bag to 3.56 on another and the shake was over about a 10th of a gram.. to about 3.6-3.7! —-TAXES ARE INSANE depending on what you buy because it varies greatly! From what I understand, the higher the THC content, the higher the tax! I didn’t buy any concentrate because I’m stocked up at this point, but my quarter ounce (65$x2) (only allowed get 2 eighths of flower, per person) of lemon sapphire and a box of chocolates (25$) came out to 155$ but THEY ROUND UP! So it was 160$ before tax and after tax was 180$! Bring cash, they charge a 3.00$ fee for debit purchases! But you can split between cash and card if needed! All in all the WERE AWESOME! At moving the line quickly! From start to finish we were there exactly an hour! From the time it opened. 105-125 total minutes counting us arriving early. The place was absolutely gorgeous on the inside and well maintained! But can’t wait for the “bud bar” to open so we can actually have a variety of strains and see what we’re buying before hand as the bags are all closed unless you buy shake, and we all know what that looks like! MY ONLY GRIPE BESIDES SELECTION IS THE LEMON SAPPHIRE IS WET AS HECK! They literally harvested it 2 days ago, and it’s not been properly dried! So INSTEAD of enjoying my purchase, I’m forced to dry it myself! THAT SHOULD NOT BE THE CASE WHEN PRICES ARE THIS HIGH! At 80$-ish an eighth.. I SHOULD HAVE TOP NOTCH 30+% flower that’s ready to be consumed immediately after purchase! But I understand with the amount of business they can only do so much! Other than that, everyone was polite and extremely nice, and let’s be honest, they should be! Their the monopoly around our area right now, and their making insane amounts of money with above premium prices, for below premium quality! 1000 plus people a day, buying that much stuff, they should be stocking top shelf strains for the non medical patients! Enjoy! And my advice. Don’t waste your time right now until they get some better flower in! The lemon sapphire is NOT worth 75-80$ an eighth but ANY stretch of the imagination! But it is 23-ish % flower so it’ll do the trick!! I placed one bud in my dryer to enjoy it sooner than the others, and it’s a smooth strain, milky white smoke, easy on the lungs, not much “fruity” flavor but not a brick weed taste by any stretch! Super average mid tier strain! Nothing more nothing less! Hopefully this answers some questions as no one else did this and took the time! Enjoy and be ready for those long cold lines! #lightupIllinois2020
July 11, 2017
The quality of the flower (depending on cultivator since they even carry the lesser) is not what i have a problem with. I never was disappointed in my medicine. My problem is the attitude of the workers, and how they push me to buy unnecessary items. They don't seem to know much about the products, and they carry everything from good cultivators to crappy ones. This just seems like a "for the money" kind of company. They told me it would take weeks to change dispensaries which was just not true, they also told me the other dispensaries wouldn't have any good products, also simply not true. The wait til is crazy and other places offer discounts, and they will fix problems in a timely manner. I have had problems with disposable pens and they basically laughed at me and told me I was using them wrong. Meanwhile at the dispensary i switched too, i had a problem with a cartridge and they got me a new one!!! Its just ridiculous
January 5, 2020
spent 44$ for two grams and 40 seeds, disappointed.
September 21, 2017
Workers here are helpfull and can stear you in the right direction, great attitudes
January 7, 2020
Overpriced for junk quality. The wait in line definitely wasn't worth it! I thought I'd buy because supposedly medicinal is more potent than what I buy off a private dealer. Yeah right! Boy they screwed me. You live and you learn. Will never return.
October 7, 2017
My friend was Tony. Very pleasant, informative and comforting. Perfect experience.
November 15, 2017
Friendly staff, now their customers by name.
January 7, 2020
$20 more for an 1/8th or a cartridge than any other dispensary I have ever been too. I can't wait for more places to open up so I don't have to go back. All my friends agree that they have burned a bridge and we are going somewhere else. Price gouging does not create "come back" customers. You should have looked at the long term and not went for the quick buck.
January 10, 2020
Exorbitant prices for mediocre (at best) flower. Oh, and a long wait to boot. Won't be returning. Disappointing. 👎
September 9, 2017
Love everything about Collinsville HCI! Great employees and management!
October 22, 2017
Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Atmosphere is positive and usually alive with chatter.
March 24, 2016
Excellent staff! You are welcomed by name when you walk in. The employees actually care about the patients, and take time to listen.-Alex King
January 19, 2020
Seeds, seeds, seeds. For the prices paying I don’t expect to be seeding my buds. 1/8 I pulled out 10 seeds. I’m looking for quality, not quickly produced stressed out bud.
January 21, 2020
The lines are too long for no reason. You wait outside for hours in a cattle like line. Once your ID is scanned you enter where they take your order. Then you walk up to the cashier to review and purchase your order. I don’t understand why it takes hrs at this dispensary to get weed. It makes no sense when the menu is limited with items.
November 24, 2017
We don’t have much of a choice at this point so they will have to do
January 3, 2020
1 flower available and it's terrible, no way the Strawberry #17 has 36% THC. It's only labeled that high so they can tax you 25% on it, as flower under 35% THC only has a 10% tax. It is not a hybrid either, just a weak Sativa. $20 a gram gtfooh. You need to visit dispensarys in Vegas and Colorado your current setup is child's play.
February 15, 2018
Hands down it is a great place. I want to try the other dispensary close to me but I don’t have any reason to leave HCI.
May 2, 2017
Staff very helpful and caring I have to give a shout out to Emily great tech and helpful.
January 30, 2020
Place sucks, and I see the fake reviews are still continuing. The writing style is very obvious. Pretty sad the only good reviews they can get is from I assume the employee(s) [as other have stated]. My cashier left much to be desired. Not knowledgeable in the slightest. Relying on your looks and giggling may work for men, but I'd do your job better. Reach out HCI! I'm interested in replacing some of the dead weight.
February 19, 2018
I have been going to this dispensary for over a year now, and it is always an enjoyable experience every time. The staff here are super helpful and friendly, and give you great recommendations. They listen to you and guide you to use the correct product based on your specific ailment/illness. Thanks HCI-Collinsville!!
January 9, 2020
quality and selection of flower was not very good at all got about 10 seeds out of 3.5 of the strawberry only 2 selections of flower
January 13, 2020
First time visit more than a week after recreational went legal. Everything was overpriced...everything. Only one type of flower. Excited to be legal but very disappointed and how “not ready” dispensary’s were. If u go..take a couple hundred, few hours and don’t expect much
January 20, 2020
The high prices and long lines are expected given that the rec market is new to IL and this is the only game in town in the STL metro area. What is unexpected is the shortage of selection (even in flower) and receiving items with a different label than on the menu. Excited for more options to be available in the future.