Etain - Manhattan
142 East 39th Street, New York, NY
Follow
Call
  • Medical
  • Storefront
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 reviews

Quality |
Service |
Atmosphere |
Review this location
2018-4-23
2018-4-23
4
Quality | 3
Service | 5
Atmosphere | 5
I'm a huge fan of etain. First off, their tinctures are elegant, tasty and expensive. Their vape pens are garbage, however. The product in the vape pen is spectacular, but they seem to have been screwed by whomever they tapped to make their vape cartridges. They do not offer refillable bulk oil. You have to buy their lousy, branded vape device. It clogs and leaks and stops working well before you are done with the contents. New York medicinal cannabis is crazy expensive, so this just is not ethical. Add to this that when you finish with the cartridge, you throw it away. Environmentally a terrible product. Everything else they make is great. Their dispensaries are clean and comfortable, but not sterile or pretentious. Their staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I use them when I can afford their products. I will never buy their vape pens again, however. I'm against inhaling vapor or smoke, anyway. It will be nice when New York State allows people to cultivate at home and make their own products. In places like Colorado, a patient on limited means can infuse coconut oil for a fraction of the price of a typical New York allowed product. For the price of one of eTain's tinctures ($165), a person could make two months worth of edible coconut oil, at home...if it were allowed. Once New Jersey and New York allow recreational cannabis, I'm afraid this amazing little gem of a business will be struggling. I wish them luck. Sorry they seem to have been stuck with a ton of branded vape cartridges that suck.
Report abuse
20
2018-4-19
2018-4-19
5
Quality | 5
Service | 5
Atmosphere | 5
I’ve been to Etain twice now to fill my prescription. I’m extremely happy with the results of the Balance capsules. The staff are caring, helpful & knowledgeable. The space is inviting without the typical, tired stoner art. It’s a beautifully designed Manhattan boutique selling high-quality products. It’s expensive, but I’ve had lots of top-shelf cannabis and this is some of the best medicine available so it’s definitely worth the cost.
Report abuse
00
2018-4-18
2018-4-18
5
Quality | 5
Service | 5
Atmosphere | 5
My first NY dispensary experience was at Etain. The office and service was great. The vape pen definitely works immediate and I really like that the oils aren't mixed with anything. The prices are a little high but they do offer deals sometimes.
Report abuse
00
2018-4-4
2018-4-4
4
Quality | 5
Service | 4
Atmosphere | 5
Great location, even better product. I've only used the vape Forte (high THC) so far, and i am satisfied on all levels of the product and it administration.
Report abuse
10
2017-11-27
2017-11-27
5
Quality | 5
Service | 5
Atmosphere | 5
This was my very first visit to a dispensary! And since this is the first review here, I'll try to be fairly thorough. After extensive research on the few options in NYC, I was sold on Etain's quality claims. Especially their vape oil, which they claim is the only additive-free medical cannabis oil in the state. Pure CO2 extraction. (By the way: As of late 2017, the actual plant is still forbidden, even as medicine. The stock photos in many NY medical marijuana resources are misleading. We can only have a limited range of extracts. Not even edibles! But they allow capsules. Hmm. It's a start.) I happened to visit Etain at a slow time, so there was no wait. Everyone from security to the pharmacist was very courteous and helpful. The atmosphere is somewhere between a Park Avenue pharmacy and a SoHo art gallery. My purchase was the small "Forte" vape oil cartridge. This is their high-THC variant, which includes a touch of CBD for balance. The pharmacist assured me that all the plant's other terpenes are in there, too. They included a free battery with a slim, hard case with custom molding to also store the charger piece and a cartridge. The design is mostly white and magenta, very bright and flowery. Not my style at all, but this is medicine, not a fashion show. Worth noting nonetheless. As for the medicine itself: I feel wonderful. My PTSD is more under control than ever. This product is good for me during the day. Moderate doses do not make me sleepy, and indeed perk me up. But even most sleepy strains, which the pharmacist suggested may be the dominant component here, don't make me very drowsy. They often wake me up! This may be helpful information, since NY currently allows only five "strains" per dispensary, with even a restriction on colorful names. So you have to wonder which strains are being extracted. We can only go by the effects. Although I can't resist trying the other dispensaries in my area soon, I suspect Etain will always be the one to beat.
Report abuse
270
page 1 of 1