Home Grown Apothecary
dispensary
Medical & Recreational

Home Grown Apothecary

Portland, OR
  In-store purchasing only

120 Reviews of Home Grown Apothecary

4.7
Quality
4.8
Service
4.8
Atmosphere
Sort by
February 6, 2017
I'm not one to write online reviews, but after visiting Home Grown Apothecary a few times, I had to make sure others knew about this shop! Honestly, I was surprised to read the previous review - Albatross must have been confusing Home Grown with a totally different dispensary... The description doesn't at all describe my experience at Home Grown. After trying out many shops in the area, none have come close to providing the friendly and knowledgable customer service I get at Home Grown. I always look forward to hearing the staff suggestions for trying out new strains. Their advice has really broadened my experiences and brought me away from my narrow-minded obsession with Jack Herer. Also, their bud is mostly grown by them, and it is all organic. It's quality stuff! Ask where the bud comes from at most shops and whether it's organically grown, and you'll find shrugging budtenders surprised that the customer would even care. No one seems to know their plant sources besides Home Grown, so if keeping clean is important to you, this is your shop. I think the vibe is great, too. None of that sterile, intake behind glass, slip your ID through a slot, wait till we buzz you in, doctor's office-y feel. Worth the travel and the prices for a way warmer shopping experience than you'll get anywhere else. From now on, I won't be going anywhere else but Home Grown.
August 27, 2018
$19/gram PLUS tax?!?! How do you charge such insanely high prices in this Oregon market? The same flower from the same farm is available for $8-10 a gram everywhere else. $19 a gram?!?! you gotta be shittin' me!
March 19, 2016
I have gone to a lot of places around Portland. I live in SE and work in NE. so I've definitely explore my fair share of options. I love this place the most. I'm not one for crowded and high end places. this place is so homey and welcoming. you feel like you're just swinging by your mom's house for lunch. it's a small adorable place. no pressure. just laid back and mega cute. I've gotten the very best Blue Dream from here. there gorilla glue was insane and pungent too. just a super sweet nice place to be. I'm amazed there aren't more reviews. so here you go.
February 1, 2017
The budtender was on coke or was just REALLY EXCITED and wouldn't shut up. Atmosphere is nice, they grow fems and autoflowers and aren't shy about their inferior genetics. The Pineapple Express was killer, but everything else i grabbed was poorly grown and made me cough. I won't come back or recommend this place to anyone. Way better flower in PDX.
June 29, 2016
Howdy and top of the morning to you from 20th and Sandy. (That's about 8 blocks neighbor!) The Kearns Buckman neighborhood has been greatly enhanced by Apothecary team's remodel and subsequent business venture. Everyone in my family feels safe and discreet in this total wellness center. My parents have government jobs and require the anonymity the staff at Apothecary continually provide. What do we continually see inside? Guaranteed Organics, RARE boutique/flower exotics that taste like fed with rich soils and always flushed properly. Down to earth employees that respect even my rich snooty neighbors. Oh and thank you for raising the property value of our small neighborhood by bringing beauty and not being like the typical fly by night "dispensaries" you'll find all over the outskirts of Portland.
November 30, 2014
Peaceful, comfortable, and personal. Home Grown is my only stop when I'm in Portland. Today I drove by 7 dispensaries to get to this one. Product is superb and the staff know all about it because they're the ones creating it. This is the way all medical stores should be.
May 16, 2016
I've been curious about organic weed for a while and wondered if it was worth it... definitely a must try snd this dispensary has amazing flower and topped my favorite ACDC that I had with theirs. quality ppl not quantity!!!
May 26, 2018
Extremely disappointing clones. To start from the beginning, I ordered clones during the early spring, thinking they'd arrive in time for the planting season. I live in Corvallis, but I'd heard enough good things about Home Grown Apothecary on the web that I thought it would be worth it to have my girlfriend pick them up (she lives in Portland). They told me they'd arrive at a decent time (early May). When the time came, they told me that they had mixed up my order and that it wouldn't be ready for another two weeks. This was obviously disappointing, but it seemed ok because they'd still arrive in a good planting window. When two weeks passed, they called again and said there was an emergency on the farm and the clones would be delayed another four days. I understand that growing can be unpredictable, but on top of the original two week delay it started to put me at the end of the best planting season. When they finally arrived, I asked my girlfriend to pick them up. I called ahead, and they told me that her name would be sufficient to pick up the order. When she arrived, they acted confused, and wanted proof of the order, and finally called me on the phone to verify. Again, this isn't unreasonable, but it's not what they said to me on the phone, and it made the pick up unnecessarily stressful. Now the clones have arrived. It they were good clones, all would be forgiven, but that's not the case. They very small (4 and 6 inches tall, one with a stem about an eighth of an inch diameter, on a little larger maybe 3/16th of an inch). One has a decent stem, the other looks weak and contorted. They've obviously been transplanted recently. To top it all off, one has aphids on it (the golden lemons, if you're reading this and trying to clean up your grow). I've never written an online review, and I've never asked for a refund for anything, but I'll be calling Home Grown Apothecary once they open. I'll update this review if they're response. tldr: Clones were three weeks late, were sad and bug infested, stressful experience.
November 25, 2017
I really want to love this place, the women who work there are genuinely friendly and offer a welcoming environment. unfortunately, i have had a bad vibe from the dude who works there. every time he helps me, he treats me like my questions are stupid or i don't know what i am asking, instead of trying to figure out what it is I'm looking for. i don't like avoiding a business because of one bad seed, but i can find equal quality nearby.
January 14, 2020
The employee gave off a vibe like I was wasting their time by coming in and spending my money there, and not on a small purchase either. Wasn't directly rude but not warm and welcoming, just trying to get me in and out as fast as possible. Wasn't very helpful, just pointed to the strains on the wall and went back to what she was doing rather than actually telling me anything about the strains or suggesting a few to look at or anything like that. I've had worse service for sure, but I looked more carefully when I got home and the weed was over 2 years old. That's just ridiculous, whether it's bottom shelf or top shelf, that just displays a blatant disregard for the satisfaction of their customers. Will not go back here.
July 19, 2022
The ladies here were so incredibly inviting and kind; my goodness! I’ve never felt treated so well in a customer service atmosphere before, thank y’all for that!! As for the quality of my product? It was equally as lovely as the ladies who helped me out today! :)
October 29, 2015
First of all, this place is in the cutest house ever! The waiting room is so homey and comfy. Great customer service, the first time my fiancee and I went there we were seen right away. We loved the Gorilla Glue and Super lemon haze flowers. Great quality!! The last time we went, we got some more Gorilla Glue and some AMAZING Strawberry Cough and we got a free grinder as well. The staff at this place are very well educated and the selection is amazing!
October 13, 2014
I stopped in because I saw the side of the building from the Highway. They have the best water cooler ever! The non- cannibis herb selection is great, And, the lineup of strains aint bad either. Try the B-line. Its like nothing I've ever tried before.The Sour Diesel BHO is INSANE! Be back next week for shure.
October 14, 2014
I stopped by because of the mural. Then when I walked up loved the vibe of the place. Very homey feel. Good products and nice people! I will definitely be going back.
October 16, 2014
Very solid shop. Meds were great. Huzzah!
October 10, 2014
GREAT LOOKING SHOP RANDA!! I'M SURE ALL OF YOUR PATIENTS WILL BE PLEASE. GOOD LUCK TO YA! TALK TO YOU SOON. ANDREW FROM KUSH BOTTLES...
October 26, 2015
Everyone I've dealt with has been very friendly! The bud tenders are knowledgable and extremely helpful! I'll definitely visit here again!
June 12, 2018
fair prices for exceptional product
September 1, 2015
The nicest people who truly take time and care. Unbelievable kindness and great knowledge of the Medical Side of the product they lovingly have in this shop. Love this shop!
December 1, 2015
One of my favorite shops, bud tenders are knowledgeable and like willing to work with you and talk and not just take your money. Plus they take time to learn your name, and they're just the best. Plus it's in this old house which is beautiful and cozy and chill.
August 24, 2017
Unique place. Homey setting, much of their flower comes from their own farm, and they sell many other herbs and herb products besides cannabis.
October 30, 2015
Obscenely cute, if every establishment was like this, we'd be living in Hyrule and everyone would be in tune and no one alone. The stuff is sustainable, grown in house. Exceptional and the person helping the recreational users is couldn't be more helpful, capable of helping get something close to what you're hoping to experience and shares you're curiosity. The price for the potency is a good deal, and the entire selection is top shelf. 10 a g.
October 11, 2014
This place is comfy! Very cool welcoming area, also a private buying room which was nice to not be picking out meds in front of others. Last but not least, great quality meds. I'll be back.
October 12, 2014
Found everything I needed in one stop. I first went in to explore the strains but ended up walking out with gummies, hard candies, papers, a grinder and a very potent strain called dog walker. They have plenty of options to choose from and their service was great. I am planning on returning.