Possession and Private Use of Cannabis Legal in Nevada Starting January 1, 2017
Bright lights, big city, and coming soon – legal cannabis!
Nevada has been following closely in the footsteps of those who have walked this path before and the state has been paying attention. When legalizing medical marijuana shops, Nevada officials were already looking towards legalization and setting up the blueprints for success.
As of January 1, 2017, not only is it a brand new year, you can now legally ring in the new year properly, with the possession and private use of up to one ounce of cannabis for adults 21 years of age and older. As tempting as it may be to spark it up in public, the new law still prohibits public consumption, so unless you’re looking for a $600 ticket to start your new year, keep your consumption to the privacy of your home or a friend’s house (just make sure to offer some newly legal cannabis to your obliging host – remember, sharing is caring!).
Sadly, there won’t be any retail shops in which to purchase cannabis – yet! By January 1 of next year, the Department of Taxation should be accepting applications for legal cannabis stores, which means by April 2018, you should be able to walk into a store, flash your ID, and purchase up to an ounce of Nevada’s finest marijuana. The cost of cannabis should be fairly inexpensive, too, by comparison to some other states. There will be a 15% excise tax, but only on wholesales of cannabis, which means that the average cannabis customer will only be subjected to state and local taxes. Not too shabby!
In the meantime, Nevada residents are allowed to grow up to six plants per person for personal use, so long as they are cultivated in a secure, locked place. Something to keep in mind, however, is that each household is limited to 12 plants total (no matter how many adults are in residence).
Enjoy your legal cannabis safely, responsibly, and privately, and mark your calendars. Congratulations, Nevada!