Recreational Cannabis is Now Legal in Oregon: 13 Frequently Asked Questions About the New Law

Published on July 1, 2015 · Last updated July 28, 2020

We recommend brushing up on these common questions about Oregon’s recreational cannabis laws. Don't forget to be safe, be responsible, and #JustSayKnow!

How much cannabis can I legally have?

Adults ages 21+ may possess up to one ounce of cannabis in public, or up to eight ounces in private.

Can I legally grow cannabis?

Yes, adults ages 21+ may grow up to four plants on their own property. Each residence is limited to four plants.

Can I consume cannabis in public?

No. Although you’re allowed to possess up to one ounce of cannabis in public, you may not consume it in a public setting.

Where can I use cannabis?

Consume responsibly on private property.

Shop highly rated dispensaries near you

Showing you dispensaries near
See all dispensaries

What is the penalty for public consumption of cannabis?

Public consumption of cannabis is a Class B violation, and you may be fined if you're caught (the fine ranges from $130 to $2,000).

What if my apartment has a smoking ban?

Sorry, but the law does not make any changes to existing landlord/tenant contracts.

What if my job requires drug testing?

Once again, sorry, but your employer has the right to drug test and can continue to do so despite state drug policies. This is especially pertinent if you’re working for a national company, as they are legally required to comply with federal laws (and, as we all know, federal laws do not acknowledge any legality for cannabis).

If I visit Oregon from out of state, can I bring cannabis back home with me?

No. Transporting cannabis across state lines is illegal. Don’t do it.

Will retail cannabis shops be available in every county in Oregon?

No. If a county’s population voted against recreational cannabis by more than 55 percent, the jurisdiction may reserve the right to ban retail shops.

Will Oregon’s recreational cannabis laws affect me as an Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) patient?

No. The recreational measure states that this act “may not be construed to amend or affect in any way the Oregon Medical Marijuana Act.”

Can I drive with cannabis?

Current DUII (Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants) laws have not changed. You may transport your cannabis, but driving under the influence of cannabis is strictly prohibited.

How much will recreational cannabis cost?

Recreational cannabis will have a 20 percent excise tax at the point of sale in retail stores. Until recreational shops are available, you can give or share your cannabis or cannabis-infused products with other legal, responsible adults, but you cannot legally buy or sell it.

Where will the taxes collected from recreational cannabis sales go?

Taxes on recreational cannabis will be distributed accordingly:

  • 40% to the Common School Fund
  • 20% to Mental Health, Alcoholism, and Drug Services
  • 15% to the State Police
  • 10% to cities for enforcement
  • 10% to counties for enforcement
  • 5% to the Oregon Health Authority for alcohol and drug abuse prevention

For more information about Oregon's retail cannabis laws, check out WhatsLegalOregon.com. Also, don't forget to brush up on your cannabis basics by checking out our Cannabis 101 articles, and download the Leafly app to find the perfect strain to suit your needs!

Shop highly rated dispensaries near you

Showing you dispensaries near
See all dispensaries
Lisa Rough
Lisa Rough
Lisa is a former associate editor at Leafly, where she specialized in legislative cannabis policy and industry topics.
View Lisa Rough's articles
Sign up for more Leafly news

By providing us with your email address, you agree to Leafly's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.